Thursday, July 22, 2010

11 Nations condemn Arizona law SB 1070

Eleven countries present at the closing of the Assembly of Parliamentary Presidents held in Geneva signed a declaration condemning Arizona’s Law SB1070, which they consider to have a “racist, xenophobic spirit and one contrary to immigration of any type.”

The declaration was introduced by Felipe Solis Acero, Vice-President of Mexico’s Parliament, and was signed by delegates from Mexico, Uruguay, Panama, Ecuador, Guatemala, Cuba, Turkey, Senegal, Micronesia and Chile.

Besides lamenting the “spirit against immigration in general and the irregular in particular” the declaration acknowledges the efforts of Barack Obama, for “his personal commitment to promote an integral migratory reform.”

Translation courtesy of National Association of Former Border Patrol Officers [Foreign news report]

Image credit: Jsun Gfunk, on


Pat said...

I have lived in Quito for over 16 years, I am happy to help with any questions you might have about the country. Patrick-

claire said...

I hope more countries join in. Could Avaaz help there?

Mind you, so many Western countries are fighting immigration! If they point a finger at the US, they point the remaining four at themselves!